It’s official, you guys.

First, let me apologize for the long hiatus from blog posting. I began this blog with the pretext and a promise that I’d write faithfully even if it meant posting a riveting debate about which way a ceiling fan spins (It’s clockwise, but I digress).

The only consolation I can offer is to tell you my time away has not been in vain. In fact, the culmination of all the white noise is, ultimately, the best gift I could ever give to the people who have faithfully read my posts over the years, but it came at a time when I’d given myself reason to quit writing altogether. Let me explain.

Over the past year, I have worked tirelessly on a memoir project compiling stories from Thailand into book form. Upwards of three hours a day I spent pouring over the pieces of my adventure until finally I felt proud enough to approach literary agents. I was expectant verging on confident. My story was unique, had hilarious elements and a “moral to the story” thread sewn throughout the whole thing. After dozens of query letters, revised query letters, proposals and pleas, I had nothing more than an inbox full of eloquently written, stock rejection emails. Just the word “rejection” strikes such a sensitive nerve. I saw the root word in its noun form and, time and time again, labeled myself as a reject. And so, I shifted to short stories, but even then, I sent them to journals and magazines with a “they’ll just say no, so I don’t know why I bother” attitude, and when I got those rejection emails, I’d look at the hopeful reflection in my computer screen and say, “See, I told you.”

After years of writing and gleaning from it the personal benefits of expression and entertainment, I had accidentally entered a dangerous arena of pity and bitterness, and that’s not who I am. So I took a step back and started “The Reader Project,” a project to refocus my motives and realign them with reasons why any writer, professional or recreational, should write. And that’s for enjoyment and imparting it to others.

I began feeling more fulfillment from you who commented, liked, shared or just viewed because, after receiving nothing from faceless agents, I was happy to be validated by the people who matter, those who are truly invested. Then, when I least expected it and was from looking for it, opportunity knocked. You might be thinking I got a bite about my Thailand stories, but that’s not the case. It was in a totally different realm (as are most things that catch us off guard).

My reader project is slowly becoming an author project . Real life, published, name-in-print author. Although I don’t yet feel I have the reputability or clout to market myself as such, I will try with every ounce of myself because I want you to benefit from it and be encouraged by it.

So, it’s official, you guys. I’ve signed with Bathory Gate publishing company and will have a Fantasy novel out in Spring/Summer 2014!

Check out my author page:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Meredith-Jade/648465681892404

Leave a Reply

